• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 rocketmower

rocketmower

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 16 February 2010 - 10:03 AM

Hi folks, just started a small soda vending business. I currently have 6 used chineese mechainical machines (drink time)all located and earning. I just picked up a nice older Pepsi select-4 machine that the previous owner had lost the keys to. Being a Mechanic I was able to drill out the pins and open the lock, no problems there. I plugged it in and the compressor runs & cools, the Coinco changer (nickel, dime) was still full of coins and will spit them out when I hit the inventory buttons. However the machine does not seem to go into the vend cycle - coins fed into the changer just drop right though. I do have cans loaded in the rack to close the can/stock switches. The switches do seem to work, as the "make another selection" light comes on and off for each selection when I depress the switch for that row.

Am I missing something here? could the changer be bad?

Also I am trying to identify this machine, and how old is it?

The only ID tag is riveted to the right side at the rear. made by "Chicago Midwest Vending model 136"

attached is a pic.

Thanks for the help!
-Mike
Posted Image

#2 marks_vending

marks_vending

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 70 posts
  • Interests:VENDING

Posted 16 February 2010 - 11:52 AM

Machine to the best of my knowledge was made between 1982 and 1989.
Here are a few simple suggestions to try before replacing any parts....

1. It sounds like it has low voltage in the coin changer. Check to see if each pin has voltage.
2. Is the LED light on or off on the changer?
3. If the light is off, check for continually on the pins
4. Check the fuses on the back of the board
5. Try cleaning the acceptor part