• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Tim

Tim

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 17 September 2007 - 11:50 AM

I'm very new to vending machines. We have one at our horse barn that we're having trouble with. It won't accept any dollar bills. The motor will pull the dollar in about 1 inch and then spit it back out at you. Could this be happening because the scanner is dirty (very dusty area)? There are no disconnected wires, etc. Any help would be useful.

Tim

#2 BVI

BVI

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 402 posts

Posted 17 September 2007 - 11:58 AM

I'm very new to vending machines. We have one at our horse barn that we're having trouble with. It won't accept any dollar bills. The motor will pull the dollar in about 1 inch and then spit it back out at you. Could this be happening because the scanner is dirty (very dusty area)? There are no disconnected wires, etc. Any help would be useful.

Tim

Yes. Something that might help is to get some fiber-like bill validator cleaners (you can usually buy them from anyone who works on coin counters, look in your phone book). My experience is that it can help, but it probably won't take care of the problem completely. You might have to take it off and give it a good cleaning yourself. Do a google search to see if you can find some instructions or precautions to take so you don't really screw something up. Of course, you can have it professionally cleaned for about $50. I have never done that, so I don't know if it's worth it or not. A new DBV can cost you a few hundred bucks.

#3 jblvending

jblvending

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 232 posts

Posted 17 September 2007 - 12:11 PM

Tim

What ype of Validator is it, should have some numbers on the side of it.How long has the machine been in that location? Depending on type of validator, may just need claening as BVI said, but I would bet it needs a rebuilt due to the conditions you described.

#4 kevin

kevin

Advanced Member